Ransomville, NY – Friday, April 26, 2013 – The 56th season at the Big R kicked off last Friday night with the annual test, tune, and time. A total of ninety cars filled the pit area with many more expected for the season opener slated for Friday, May 3rd. It will be the 41st season of operation under the Friesen family ownership.
Time trials were used to determine opening night’s front row starting positions in all five divisions. For the Mighty Taco Modified’s and Investor’s Services Sportsman – much more was at stake as a full barrel of VP Racing Fuel was awarded to the fastest teams. These barrels of fuel value in excess of $500! The barrels of fuel were compliments of Ransomville Speedway and VP Racing Fuels. In 2012 – Ransomville Speedway was named the VP Racing Fuels Track of the Year and as such was awarded an allotment of fuel which in turn will be awarded through various programs. Two of these barrels went to Erick Rudolph and Jesse Cotriss as they set fast time in their perspective divisions.
Nineteen drivers posted times in the head-lining division – the Mighty Taco Modified. Taking top honors with a time of 16.69 was Erick Rudolph of Ransomville, NY. Some people are good at time trails, some aren’t. Safe to say Rudolph has it down pat as he posted the quick time in 2012 as well. 2011 track champion Chad Brachmann will join Rudolph on the front row as he posted the second quickest time with a 16.94. Ryan Susice, 2012 track champion Pete Bicknell, and Ricky Richner rounded out the top five.

A total of twenty-four competitors took time aboard the Investor’s Services Sportsman class. Setting fast time for the second year in a row was Jesse Cotriss of Medina, NY. Cotriss posted a time of 17.75 – the only Sportsman driver to post in the 17 second range. Scott George claimed the second fast time and will start alongside Cotriss for opening nights twenty-five lap feature main. James Henry, Allan Wills, and James Michael Friesen rounded out the top five.

Some fourteen cars participated in the Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock time trials. The fast timer was not a surprise to anyone as defending champion Alex Morris topped the field. Morris posted a time of 20.30 – a total of .57 seconds faster than second fast timer Ken Camidge. Camidge was piloting a new to him racer as he acquired the former Derrick Borkenhagen machine in the off season. 2012 King of the Hill winner Mike Short claimed the third quickest time followed by Webb Nashwinter and Pat Dell.

The Fireballs found veteran racer Pat O’Keefe topping the charts. O’Keefe set a time of 22.40 earning him the pole position for opening nights feature main. Chris Leone of Niagara Falls will join him after his time landed him with the second fastest. Zack Sam, Jamie Woods, and Matt Hartsock rounded out the top five.

Mike Hossfeld and Brett Senek will share the front row of the opening night feature in the Gippster’s Collision 4 Banger class. Hossfeld set fast time with a 22.90 while Senek came home in second with a time of 23.08. Senek is a graduate of the Go-kart ranks. Austin Susice, Corey O’Keefe, and Jose Torres rounded out the top five.