Ransomville, NY – Friday, August 30, 2013 – As has become the norm in 2013 – Mother Nature threatened to rear her ugly head last Friday forcing officials to rush the program for the eighty-three competitors in attendance. Several rain delays would hamper the event sponsored by Atwal Eye Care & the Fire House Tavern. Three events in September make up the remainder of the 2013 year.


Ryan Susice of Ransomville, NY collected a cool $2,000 last Friday night aboard the 52 lap Stan Friesen Mighty Taco Modified memorial event.  Under a perfect scenario, feature mains are run from lap one through the final lap in the same time frame. Thanks to the likes of Mother Nature, the 52 lap event was split into two segments after inclement weather forced the field pitside on lap 26.  The cars would return an hour later to complete the final 26 circuits with Susice in control. Susice would take top honors for the second time in 2013 aboard his Subway sponsored #38.  Sam Crogan, Ricky Richner, Chad Brachmann, and Scott Kerwin rounded out the top five.
The race within the race would be between Pete Bicknell and Erick Rudolph for the 2013 title.  Damage during an incident early on resulted in Rudolph going a lap down.  Motor woes would sideline Bicknell but it wouldn’t matter as Rudolph failed to make up the necessary positions to claim the title.  Bicknell was crowned the champion for the thirteenth time at Ransomville Speedway winning a pair of features in the process.  Rudolph would claim three wins –one of which came aboard the $13,000 to WIN Alex Friesen Summer Nationals event on August 16th.


               James Michael Friesen and Greg Martin put on a barn burner of a race in the twenty-five lap Investors Services Sportsman main event.  Martin led the majority of the race until the final corner when Friesen made a move to the outside to take the lead and the win.  Friesen hounded Martin through the final five laps putting major pressure on the Wilson, NY driver.  Friesen would bring the crowd to their feet as he pulled alongside Martin through turns three and four.  Friesen would claim his fourth win of the season aboard the borrowed car owned by John McKinney.  Martin, Don Spatorico, Allan Wills, and Rob Clark rounded out the top five.


               Jesse Cotriss of Akron, NY captured his first Ransomville Speedway track championship!  Cotriss simply needed to take the green in the Investor’s Services Sportsman main event last Friday to walk away with his first ever title. Three wins and a very consistent season aided Cotriss to the title.  Safe to say there will be many very happy family members and crew attending the 2013 awards and dinner celebration slated for November 1st.


               Brian Lonneville of Sanborn, NY took top honors last Friday night aboard the Ki-Po Chevrolet twenty lap Street Stock main event.  Sitting third in points coming into the night, Lonneville knew he had to have a solid run as the final two point races were upon us.  Lonneville immediately took control at the start of the main event and pulled out to a comfortable lead.  A caution on lap eleven would bunch up the field and put Kyle Wendt and Jaren Israel on his back bumper.  The trio ran nose to tail through the final five circuits with Lonneville hanging on for his second win of the season.  Wendt, Israel, Jesse Johnston, and Alex Morris rounded out the top five.  Pat Dell held onto the points lead with an approximate fifty point separation over defending champion Morris. 


               Ryan Plante of Ransomville, NY captured his first Gippster’s Collision 4 Banger feature of 2013.  Plante took advantage of his front row starting position and quickly established himself as the leader.  Plante ran a very smart and methodical race under slick conditions thanks to inclement weather.  Plante would lead through lap seven prior to the race being halted due to weather.  Plante became the fifth different winner of the season.  Corey OKeefe enjoyed his best finish of the year in second followed by Brett Senek, Brian Monahan, and Mike Pahl.


MIGHTY TACO MODIFIED FEATURE FINISH – RYAN SUSICE (38), Sam Crogan (7), Ricky Richner (26), Chad Brachmann (3), Scott Kerwin (7K), Alan Johnson (14J), Robbie Krull (123), Brian Sage (12), Steve Schumacher (56), Jeff McGinnis (1r), Erick Rudolph (25), Justin Wright (11j), Nick Joy (12j), Pete Bicknell (42), John Smith (678), Trevor Perry (3t), and Tommy Flannigan (72). Heat Winners – Steve Schumacher (56) and Ryan Susice (38).


INVESTOR’S SERVICES SPORTSMAN FEATURE FINISH –JAMES MICHAEL FRIESEN (52), Greg Martin (4), Don Spatorico (5), Allan Wills (111), Rob Clark (19c), Chris Burek (94), Nate Reynolds (6r), Matt Farnham (7f), Kevin Wills (51), Justin Sharp (8s), Scott George (26), James Henry (21)), Billy Coleman (92c), Sandy Pembleton (28), Phil Vigneri III (47v), Adam Hilton (3a), Jesse Cotriss (55c), Mike Williams (6m), Andy Smith (1), Derrick Borkenhagen (25), Boyd MacTavish (41), Brett Martin (4), and Jim Zimmerman (27). Heat Winners – Greg Martin (4), Rob Clark (19c), and Justin Sharp (8s).


KI-PO CHEVROLET STREET STOCK FEATURE FINISH – BRIAN LONNEVILLE (12), Kyle Wendt (16), Jaren Israel (10), Jesse Johnston (43), Alex Morris (48t), Ricky Washburn (05), Pat Dell (14p), Jason Meyers (63), Mike Short (19s), Randy Zimmerman (5), Cliff Gregg III (18), Webb Nashwinter (22n), Chase Madison (31), Donald Hermanson (52), Ryan Stephenson (71), Ken Camidge (25k),  and Sean Letts (40). Heat Winners – Alex Morris (48t) and Webb Nashwinter (22n).




GIPPSTER’S COLLISION FEATURE FINISH – RYAN PLANTE (93), Corey OKeefe (11),  Brett Senek (111), Brian Monahan (36), Mike Pahl (5), Mike Kramarz (4), Brenden OKeefe (55), Jeff Sonnenburg (17), Joey Zimmerman (6), Howard Guthrie (13), Jay Eck (23), BobbiLynn Spillman (76), John Conklin (9c), Anthony Guthrie (43), Austin Susice (81), Joe Kincade (55k), Matt Foster (29f), and Ruben Coffey (76r). Heat Winners – Brian Monahan (36) and Ryan Plante (93).