Ransomville, NY – Friday, September 13, 2013 -  A chilly evening greeted fans, drivers, sponsors, and crew last Friday night for the final weekend of racing at the Big R in 2013.  The annual King of the Hill event presented by the Niagara Gazette and Investor’s Services featuring qualifying events on Friday with the main events slated for Saturday.
               Kevin Wills of Ransomville, NY won his second feature main of the 2013 season aboard the Investors Services Sportsman division. Wills took full advantage of his front row starting position to take control at the drop of the green. Wills would need to tip toe through lapped traffic as the event went clean and green through the final stages before a trio of yellows slowed the pace.  Wills would maintain the top spot and collect the win. “I just had the momentum going,” commented Wills. “I knew Jesse was there, I just ran my line.”  2013 champion Jesse Cotriss came home in second followed by Greg Panunte, Cody McPherson, and Scott George.


               Jaren Israel of Wilson, NY captured his fifth win of the season in the Ki-Po Chevrolet Street Stock class.  While it has been a difficult season at times this year for the veteran Israel, when things have gone right – they have gone right in a big way making Israel the winningest driver of the season. Israel took the lead early on and maintained it through the final laps in the twenty lap main.  “The track is super tacky tonight,” commented Israel. “We weren’t really expecting it.  It was fast.”  Jake Stefanski, Ken Camidge, Peter Reid, and Mike Short rounded out the top five.


               Jim Harbison of Ransomville, NY collected his third win of the season in the FinditQuick.com Fireball class.  Harbison played the spoiler on the final circuit of the twelve lap main as he took the point position away from Anthony Hermanson who was looking for his first win. “It was kinda fun out there,” commented Harbison in his postrace interview. “I was really looking forward to tonight after last week.” Hermanson would hold on to second and score his best finish of the year followed by Chad Lederhouse, Chris Leone, and Patrick OKeefe.


               Chris Leone notched his very first Ransomville Speedway track championship.  The title run came aboard the FinditQuick.com Fireballs.  Leone came into the event some twenty-two points ahead of defending champion Jim Stone.  With the car count present, Leone simply needed to take the green flag to claim the championship. “A lot of hard work went in the car this year,” commented Leone.  “It was a tough year but it worked out in the end.”


               Mike Kramarz of Niagara Falls, NY took top honors for the third time in the 2013 season aboard the Gippsters Collision 4 Banger division.  Kramarz used his pole position start to quickly emerge with the lead.  Kramarz would hold down the point position through the entire twelve laps with Austin Susice and Brett Senek glued tightly to his back bumper.  Susice and Senek would settle for second and third followed by Tommy Lalomia and Corey OKeefe. “We don’t know what we are doing yet,” laughed Kramarz trackside when asked about next season. “Maybe Fireballs or we may stay with the 4 Bangers for another year.”


               Austin Susice captured the 2013 title in the Gippster’s Collision 4 Banger division.  In one of the most competitive title chases of the season, Susice came into the event some four markers in front of Mike Kramarz and needed to finish no worse than second if Kramarz was to win.  Kramarz did just that by claiming the win but it would be Susice hanging on to the title by one point over Kramarz. “With about three weeks to go it set in that we had a shot at this,” commented Susice. “Want to thank everyone who helped us get here.”


INVESTOR’S SERVICES SPORTSMAN FEATURE FINISH – KEVIN WILLS, Jesse Cotriss, Greg Panunte, Cody McPherson, Scott George, Chris Burek, Boyd MacTavish, Nate Reynolds, Brett Martin, James Michael Friesen, AJ Lloyd, Derek Smith, Andy Smith, Mike Williams, Andy Jankowiak, Jim Zimmerman, Gary Lindberg, BJ Willard, James Henry, Alan Wills, Greg Martin, and Derrick Borkenhagen. Heat Winners – Greg Panunte and Jesse Cotriss.


KI-PO CHEVROLET STREET STOCK FEATURE FINISH – JAREN ISRAEL, Jake Stefanski, Ken Camidge, Peter Reid, Mike Short, Marc Minutolo, Kyle Wendt, Pat Dell, Bill Bleich, Dave Small, Neil Pafk, Chase Mattison, Price Richardson, Donald Hermanson, Jesse Johnston, Cliff Gregg III, Cliff Brucker, Alex Morris, Ricky Washburn, and Webb Nashwinter. Heat Winners –Alex Morris and Cliff Brucker.


FINDITQUICK.COM FIREBALL FEATURE FINISH – JIM HARBISON, Anthony Hermanson, Chad Lederhouse, Chris Leone, Patrick OKeefe, Ashley Harbison, Jim Stone, Steve Matson, and Rick Blech.  Heat Winners – Jim Stone.


GIPPSTER’S COLLISION 4 BANGER FEATURE FINISH – MIKE KRAMARZ, Austin Susice, Brett Senek, Tommy Lalomia, Corey OKeefe, Brian Monahan Jr., Chris Lammerts, BobbiLynn Spillman, Ryan Plante, Gordie Gau, Jay Eck, Brenden OKeefe, Anthony Guthrie, Joey Zimmerman, Howard Guthrie, John Conklin, Chris Miller, Jose Torres, Jeffrey Sonnenburg, Randy Chrysler Jr., and Mike Pahl.  Heat Winners – Brian Monahan and Mike Kramarz.